Commissioner Mary Scherling was elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2012.  Her portfolios include the Sheriff's Office, Jail, Juvenile Detention, and Emergency Management. Current committee assignments include the Social Services Board, County Park Board, Road Advisory Committee, Personnel Overview Committee, Flood Sales Tax Committee, and Flood Buyout Committee. 

She serves on the Metro Flood Diversion Authority, and also serves on the Metro Flood Diversion Authority Land Management Committee, Fargo Planning Commission member from the extraterritorial area, North Dakota Association of Counties Board and as the Chair on the Executive Board of the Red River Basin Commission.

Scherling is a long-time Cass County resident and licensed real estate broker in North Dakota and Minnesota, and prior to that held a 20-year career in nuclear medicine technology. 

She currently serves on the FM Area Association of Realtors (FMAAR) Multiple Listing Services board, chairs the FMAAR grievance committee, is a board member of the Kiwanis Club of Fargo, and a board member of the Kiwanis Scholarship Foundation.  She and her husband, Patrick live in Stanley Township and have four adult sons and three grandchildren.

Scherling's goals include strategic planning and budgeting of tax revenue, holding the line on property taxes, countywide water management, serving the needs of residents, active planning, and open communication.