1010 2ND AVE S
FARGO, ND 58108 


Cass County Social Services is a department of Cass County government that has been designated by law to provide poor relief and related services to the citizens of Cass County. The majority of the services/programs offered by the county are done in conjunction with state and federal agencies, particularly the North Dakota Department of Human Services. Cass County Social Services provides a wide range of services, including both social services and economic assistance programs. Some services are provided directly by county employees and others are provided through contracts.

Administrative Structure:

Cass County Social Services is directly responsible to the Cass County Social Services Board. The Board is accountable to the Cass County Commission and, where designated, the North Dakota Department of Human Services. The Board consists of seven members, including five County Commissioners and two community at-large members. The Board meets both regularly and in special session monthly. The Board appoints the Director of Social Services with the approval of the County Commission.


Cass County Social Services has a total of 146 budgeted positions and 149 employees.


The 2016 Cass County Social Services operating budget is 14.8 million dollars. This budget includes both the county share of funding for services and some state/federal programs. It does not include all financial benefits paid to/for clients through programs such as Medical Assistance, Temporary Assistance to Need Families, and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (formerly Food Stamps) that is estimated at almost 18 million dollars annually for Cass County. If those costs were also included it is estimated that the total county-based social services expenditures would be over 90 million dollars annually.

Civil Rights Statement:

Cass County makes available all services/assistance without regard to race, color, sex, age, disability, national origin, religion, political beliefs, or status with respect to marriage or public assistance.  Social Services is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 as amended and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1991.  More information about this policy is available on the North Dakota Department of Human Services website.  To file a grievance, follow the instructions on the Civil Rights Grievance Process or contact Cindy Stoick, ADA/Section 504 Coordinator, at 211 9th Street South, Fargo, ND 58103; 701-241-5736;  Note:  Contact Cindy Stoick for all Section 504 or ADA concerns. 

Programs and Services:

In addition to the Agency Intake Unit, there are three divisions within Social Services that serve different audiences.  Below are the divisions with examples of some of the programs they offer.  For detailed information concerning programs and services within each division, please click on the division name below or on the left navigation menu.

Agency Intake

The Agency Intake Unit is the first point of contact for clients seeking a referral for internal or external services.  The unit receives initial adult protection and child protection reports, provides information and referral services, facilitates emergency out-of-home placement of children, and acts as a liaison of services with foster parents during the first week of placement.  

Economic Assistance Division

Examples include: 

Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) formerly AFDC: A program to provide financial assistance to children, deprived of parental support, who are in need of money for food, shelter, clothing, and personal needs.

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program: (SNAP) A cooperative effort of County, State and Federal governments to assure proper nutrition for all poor, eligible participants by increasing their food buying power.   

Low Income Home Energy Program (LIHEAP): A program to provide emergency and home energy assistance to eligible low income households to help defray the expense of fuel costs.

Medical Assistance (MA): A program designed to assist individuals and families who do not have enough income to obtain health care.  

Family Services Division

Examples include:

Child Abuse/Neglect Assessments: A program that provides for an assessment of allegations of child abuse or neglect and determines a finding that a family needs services. Services may be recommended or required depending on the family situations.

Child Placement Services (foster care): A process of placing children who are in the custody of the county into some type of out-of-home placements, such as foster or residential care. This is a legal process that is court supervised.

Day, Family, and Group Care Licensing and Registration: A service that permits individuals and groups to provide licensed child care. Licensing requires minimal standards for care and the physical environment. All individuals who care for more than six unrelated individuals must be licensed or registered in North Dakota.

Family Foster Care Licensing: A service that recruits, trains and recommends licensing for the care of children in need of out-of-home placement. This includes a home study and determining the fitness of a family to be considered as a foster parent.

Adult Services Division

Examples include:

Adult Protective Services: The program provides assessment of vulnerable individuals alleged to be victims of abuse, neglect, self-neglect or exploitation and short term crisis intervention to arrange for the provision of essential services.

Adult Family Foster Care: Includes the provision of 24-hour room, board, supervision, and other cares as designated to an adult who is determined to be unable to function independently, or who may benefit from a family home environment. The care is provided in a licensed private home.

Chore Services: The provision of one-time, intermittent or occasional home tasks, including house cleaning, minor home maintenance, minor home repair, select installation, and walk maintenance.

Homemaker: The provision of non-personal care tasks such as housekeeping, laundry and shopping, and which enable the individual to maintain or develop independence needed to remain at home.

Home Delivered Meals: The purpose is to provide a well-balanced meal to qualifying individuals under the age of 60 who are unable to prepare a meal.