Navigate Up
Sign In
Welcome to Cass County, North Dakota
Darrell Vanyo - District 4

Contact your Commissioner

Commissioner Darrell Vanyo was elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2002. His portfolios include the Sheriff's Office, Jail, Juvenile Detention, and Emergency Management.  Current committee assignments include the Social Services Board, Road Advisory Committee, Personnel Overview Committee, County Park Board, and Greater Fargo Moorhead Economic Development Corporation.  He also serves as the Chairman of the FM Flood Diversion Board of Authority.

Vanyo was born in Grand Forks, North Dakota and was raised on a farm near Warren, Minnesota. He graduated from Alvarado High School in 1966 and North Dakota State University in 1972. He and his wife, Dena have four grown children, 3 daughters and 1 son.

Vanyo served as a West Fargo City Commissioner from 1986 to 1999 and has also served on the Fargo Moorhead Metropolitan Council of Governments, the West Fargo Economic Development Committee and Hospice of the Red River Valley.  In addition, Vanyo served on the Board of Directors for Cultural Diversity Resources, Inc. and currently is a board member on the FargoDome Authority.

Vanyo's goals as a county commissioner are to hold the line on taxes; oversee the proper distribution of county funds for all departments; actively participate in county-wide strategic planning; and to remain open-minded in all issues that come before the commission so that all voices are heard before decisions are made.